Stick to your guns

typewriter-1627197_960_720

The title of this blog post comes after the damp squib that has been my Britain’s Next Bestseller campaign.

With only 16 pre-orders and only 16 days to go it became immediately obvious both to me and my family that obtaining 250 pre-orders was a leap of trust for people who don’t know me or know me well and a near impossible feat for me.  What it comes down to is this: I don’t know 250 people and even if I did, asking them to pre-order a book they cannot physically pick up to look at before hand is quite a challenge.  It’s almost like asking for sponsor money when you decide you want to run your local 10k race for an obscure charity.

Don’t get me wrong, I am very grateful to everyone that has shown their support so far, whether they placed an order or not.  And it’s not like I didn’t try, I did.  But after two charities rebuffed my kind offer of donating £1 for each pre-order I lost heart.  I offered giveaways-they didn’t work AT ALL.  I contacted the local paper who initially seemed keen but then lost interest.

To be honest I don’t have the inclination to self-market to the extent that is required for this and I am very much an introvert so I kind of knew that it’d be a miracle if I even got 50 pre-orders let alone 250! Plus, isn’t this a cleverly disguised ‘vanity publishing’ venture?

So in just over two week’s time the crowd funding campaign will be over and by the end I will be able to say that I gave it what I could within my own capabilities but that deep down I knew that self-publishing would be the ultimate outcome.  Which is what I was always going to do anyway.

For now, I will start on my FINAL proofread and then on to Kindle Direct publishing in October/November.  And I keep saying it but watch this space.

Let’s not even mention the imminent start of the next novel….

 

Leave a Reply

